Skip to main content

Investing in US Stocks from Canada: Complete Guide (2026)

Updated

Investing in US markets from Canada is straightforward with the right setup. The three decisions that matter most: which broker you use, how you convert currency, and which account type holds each investment. For the broader ETF and portfolio context, start with our ETFs and index funds hub.

Norbert’s Gambit: step-by-step walkthrough

If you only need the conversion tactic itself, jump to our dedicated Norbert’s Gambit guide.

Norbert’s Gambit is the method most Canadian investors use to convert CAD to USD at near-interbank rates.

Step 1: Buy DLR.TO in your Canadian account

DLR is an ETF (Horizons US Dollar Currency ETF) that holds US dollars. Each share is worth approximately $10 USD.

  • Log into your broker
  • Buy DLR.TO in the CAD side of your account (RRSP CAD, TFSA CAD, or non-reg CAD)
  • DLR.TO is priced in CAD; each share ≈ $10 USD × exchange rate (e.g., at 1.38, each share ≈ $13.80 CAD)
  • Buy as many shares as you need to cover your USD amount

Step 2: Wait for settlement

DLR.TO settles T+1 (next business day). Wait until fully settled before proceeding.

Step 3: Journal shares from CAD to USD

This is the key step that most brokers require a phone call to complete.

  • Call your broker’s trade desk
  • Say: “I would like to journal my DLR.TO shares from the CAD side [account number] to DLR.U.TO on the USD side [same or linked account number]”
  • The rep converts your DLR.TO shares to DLR.U.TO in the USD sub-account
  • DLR.U.TO is the same ETF but priced in USD (~$10 USD/share)

TD Direct Investing: can do this online via “Move Securities” without a phone call. Questrade: phone call required. IBKR: use the online FX converter instead (cheaper, no journaling needed).

Step 4: Sell DLR.U.TO

Once the journal is complete, sell DLR.U.TO. You receive approximately $10 USD per share minus a small bid-ask spread (~0.01–0.02 USD per share).

Step 5: Buy your US ETF

Use the USD proceeds to buy VTI, VOO, or your chosen US security.


Broker comparison for US equity investing

Broker US trade commissions FX spread USD in RRSP/TFSA Norbert’s Gambit
Questrade $0 buy / ECN on sell 1.5–2% Yes Yes (phone)
Wealthsimple Trade (Premium) $0 ~0.5% Premium / 1.5% free Yes (2025) No
TD Direct Investing $9.99/trade 1.5% Yes Online (Move Securities)
RBC Direct Investing $9.95/trade 1.5% Yes Phone
NBDB (National Bank) $0 1.5% Yes Yes (phone)
Interactive Brokers (IBKR) $0.005/share (min $1) ~0.1–0.2 bps Yes Direct FX convert
BMO InvestorLine $9.95/trade 1.5% Yes Phone

Withholding tax by account: quick reference

We cover the account-placement side in more detail in best account type for US stocks and ETFs in Canada.

Account type US-listed ETF withholding Recovery?
RRSP, RRIF, LIRA, LIF, PRPP 0% (treaty Article XXI) N/A — nothing withheld
TFSA, FHSA 15% None — permanently lost
Non-registered 15% Yes — Form T2209, Line 40500

T1 reporting checklist for US investment income

If you are deciding whether the tax drag is worth the extra complexity, compare this with US ETFs vs Canadian-listed ETFs: withholding tax comparison.

Currency moves also affect your realized returns, so this guide pairs naturally with hedged vs unhedged ETFs in Canada.

Income type Account T1 line Form needed
US dividends received Non-registered Line 12100 T5 slip from broker
Foreign tax withheld Non-registered Line 40500 Form T2209
Capital gain on US stocks Non-registered Schedule 3 → Line 12700 No form — calculate manually
All US income in RRSP RRSP Not reported Nothing until withdrawal
All US income in TFSA TFSA Not reported Nothing ever
T1135 — foreign property over $100K Non-registered Filed separately Form T1135

T1135: Foreign Income Verification Statement

Canadians who own foreign property (including US stocks) with a total adjusted cost base exceeding $100,000 CAD in a non-registered account must file Form T1135 with their annual tax return.

Key T1135 facts:

Feature Details
Threshold Over $100,000 CAD total cost of all foreign property
Applies to Non-registered accounts only (RRSP, TFSA, FHSA are exempt)
What counts US stocks, ETFs, foreign bank accounts, foreign real estate
Deadline Same as your T1 return (generally April 30, or June 15 for self-employed)
Penalty for non-filing $25/day up to $2,500; gross negligence penalty up to $500/day ($12,000 max)

If your non-registered US equity portfolio is approaching $100,000 CAD, track the adjusted cost base carefully. The threshold is based on cost (what you paid), not current market value. Once over $100,000 cost, you must file T1135 every year even if the current value is below $100,000.

Many Canadian investors avoid this requirement by holding US equity exclusively in registered accounts (RRSP, TFSA) — where T1135 does not apply regardless of size.